jump to navigation

Review of Amazing Spider-Man 559 (2 stars) May 13, 2008

Posted by lotrking in Comic Book Reviews.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Overall rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Please tell me I’m not the only one who hates the cover. The first time I ever saw a picture of it I made a sound like: “war-ahhh!” I can’t quite put my finger on it, but the cover just plain annoys me. I suppose it just way to looks anime-y and/or cartoony. Imagine my relief when I found out that the cover artist is not the interior artist. That was until I picked up the issue and saw that Spider-Man looked really feminine (especially around the eyes) and that the bodies were all oddly proportioned (especially the heads). I dunno, I may have preferred the cover artist to do the inside. And this is just the art.

When it comes to Avengers: The Initiative, Dan Slott is near genius, his Spider-Man, not so much. The story opens with a female villain (named Screwball of all things!) who streams her crimes live on the internet and who tries to escape Spidey before he shoots a tracer at her. Screwball, who believes what the papers say about the tracer killings, turns herself in to protect herself from death. And that’s it. We are introduced to a new villain, and five pages later she goes to jail. Unless she plays a bigger role later on (which I hope she doesn’t) her prescence here seemed completely pointless.

Later at the DB, Bennet tells Peter his photography style would be perfect for paparazzi photos and offers a huge sum for a pics of a visiting movie star, Bobby Carr (who seems to be modeled after Leonardo DiCaprio). Peter takes up the job, and sneaks into his private room to later take a picture of him hitting the room service woman. This is just yet another example of how OMD retconned his sense of responsibility. I’m in disbelief, he’s seriously using his “great powers” to take low-life paparazzi pictures? I’m on Aunt May’s side with this, this seems completely out of character. If I didn’t know better, I’d swear Pete was a Skrull (wouldn’t it be nice if that’s how they fixed OMD).

Shortly after this, it appears that the issue may get some redeeming as we meet a really creepy villain who appears to be able to turn invisible and flatten herself on a wall and has an extremely gothic look. (Not the annoying teen wannabe gothic look with pants covered in chains, she actually looks like she might have walked out of an Edgar Allen Poe poem.) I was almost an instant fan until we find out that she has an obsessive teengirl crush on Bobby Carr, and this seems to be her only driving motivation. Five bucks says she captures Carr, attempts to seduce him and Spider-Man will have to save him from her in the next two issues. Gosh, I’ve never read a story like that before. Well, except for the time that Pete and MJ’s landlord had an obsessive crush on MJ and Pete had to rescue her. Oh, or the fact that there was a similar story in almost every cheesy-drama cartoon I watched as a kid. Or the fact that such a story exists in many fairy tales. No, this is completely original. Please, please Slott, stick to the Initiative.

-LOTRKing

Comments»

1. Justiin - May 13, 2008

Slott’s Spidey stories have definitely been lacking…
Didn’t really care for the one by Wells either


Leave a Reply

