jump to navigation

Review of Daredevil 106 (4 stars) April 1, 2008

Posted by lotrking in Comic Book Reviews.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

dd106.jpg

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was the perfect epilogue for the preceding arc, for anyone wanting to jump on the Daredevil bandwagon, this is also a good point to do so. This was also a fairly unique story, as it didn’t really star Matt/Daredevil. The issue begins with narration from Ben Urich, who is now dealing with the woes of being an editor himself. Ben has been receiving police reports of brutal beatings caused by Daredevil, and is worried about his friend.

The story then cuts to Foggy, who has come to Matt’s house. Foggy catches Matt just before he goes to take care of some “business,” and pleads with Matt, asking him to come back to the office. Matt shrugs this off, and goes out for another night of crime fighting “hiding from the world behind his mask,” as Foggy puts it. Foggy and Ben meet for dinner, and Ben notices that Foggy is starting to be physically effected by the stress as well.

We then learn that Dakota has been driving Matt to see Milla thrice weekly, only to learn that the current time will be the last time for a while, as Matt’s visits are hurting Milla, more than helping her. Dakota takes Matt to “drown his sorrows,” only for him to get into a bar fight because two customers were quietly planning a robbery. The story closes with Ben refusing to let one of his reporters do a story on Daredevil, and once again wishing that Matt will be able to work through his grief soon.

As I said earlier, this is a great epilogue because it not only shows how Mr. Fear’s scheme continues to affect Matt’s life, but also the lives of many of Matt’s friends. While some may have found this issue a little slow (understandable), I still enjoyed it, as it gave a great look into the tragedy that is Matt Murdock’s life. Given, this would become old if the next few issues were similar to this, but I don’t think they will be, as I’m sure Brubaker has another piece of genius up his sleeve. Just a brief comment on the art: while it did fit the tone and style of the story, I’m not really a huge fan of it, so I’m hoping Lark comes back next issue. So overall, this was a thoroughly enjoying issue; keep ‘em coming Brubaker!

Please leave comments!

-LOTRKing

Comments»

1. lotrking - April 4, 2008

PitKnight asked me the following question on the Marvel Boards, and I thought his question and my response would be a good addition to this review.

PitKnight: Did you read the IGN review? It’s gotten one of the worst reviews Daredevil’s gotten for awhile. I was wondering what your take on it would be (assuming you’ve read it) taking into account you rating it so favorably.

LOTRKing: I just now read it, and he does bring up a few points. One, that this sort of issue has been done before. Being new to Daredevil myself, I haven’t read one of these issues before, so this was fairly new to me. (Though I’ve read a similar storyline, Back in Black, but I must say I’m enjoying this more, and that was Spider-Man, not Daredevil.) And so, since this is new to me, I may have enjoyed more than some more “seasoned” Daredevil readers. Two, he says himself, he lowered the score by several points because of the artwork. While I can’t say I enjoyed the artwork, I usually don’t let it affect the score too much. Three, everyone has their own opinion, and they’re entitled to it, he may not have enjoyed the issue too much, but I know I did.

2. Gloria - April 5, 2008

My thoughts are: the way the Bendis run ended, with Matt outed and in jail, and his relationship with Milla in at a difficult point… What has happened is only logical (if sad). Matt thought his life was restored, but his enemies think otherwise.

I like what Brubaker is doing with the series and the character… For those who complain, what should have been done? make mephisto retcon Matt’s difficulties and marriage as it has been done with Spiderman? Please, NO! Daredevil is a good comic, and Bru is a serious writer.

And don’t worry about matt: he’s got good, loyal friends: they will help him to stand back on his feet again.

In Bru I trust.


Leave a Reply

