jump to navigation

Review of Cartographer by E.S. Posthumus (5 stars) March 20, 2008

Posted by lotrking in Other Random Stuff, SSTuff.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

cartographer.jpg

Overall rating: 5 out of 5 stars

That’s right, I’m actually reviewing something other than a comic, and based on my rating, you can probably see why. For anyone not familiar with E.S. Posthumus, please read their Wikipedia article. (I was going to give a brief history of them, but then realized I would be saying almost everything that Wikipedia says.) Now, on to the review:

E.S. Posthumus has worked their magic once again with their second album; Cartographer is definitely superior to its predecessor (which was still genius of course). Cartographer is a 2 CD collection with each CD being unique and being able to stand alone as a single album, yet at the same time, each CD is a good reflection of the other. The first CD, while quite different from Unearthed (their first album), is a unique blend of many different ethnic orchestral sounds, with lyrics sung by the beautiful (both in appearance and sound) Luna Sans. The lyrics were written by the Vonlichten brothers (the founders of E.S. Posthumus) in a Latin-derivative language that they created especially for this album. In order, these songs tell the story of the inhabitants of the island of Numa, a fictional ancient civilization, their rise as a civilization, their exploration of the world, and their eventual fall. Listening to this CD, it is hard not to be swept away in the spirit of exploration, and to see what they may have seen. It is truly beautiful music.

The second CD is much more akin to Unearthed, and is a remix of every song on the first CD, along with two bonus tracks. It follows the same cinematic orchestral tone of Unearthed, but at the same time it creates its own new tone. It would likely be easy to tell the difference between an Unearthed song and a Cartographer song. Cartographer “Peri Reis Remixes” makes use of a grand choir with almost every track, and does not have any of Luna Sans vocals. To me, this CD seems another adaptation of the story of Numa, even if it is in a different order, and while it may sound very different from the first CD, the same spirit of exploration, hope, and adventure is present. Together, these two CDs form one of the greatest albums that I have listened to, and one that has quickly become one of my favorites. My favorite songs from this album include: Oraanu, Mosane, and Marunae (along with their remixes). This album is worth every penny, and is definitely a great buy. It can be purchased at CD Baby. Music samples are available at the Cartographer website. This is an album that definitely deserves looking into!

Please leave comments!

-LOTRKing

Comments»

1. Luna - April 15, 2008

I am grateful for your words and support!! Thanks for the many compliments…..

2. lotrking - April 16, 2008

Holy crap. Luna Sans just commented on my blog. This is offically the coolest thing to happen to me online ever.

And to Luna: thanks! I eagerly await your next album, E.S. Posthumus or otherwise! 🙂

-LOTRKing

3. SerenityLife - May 19, 2008

@lotrking – I agree with you 100%. It amazes me how E.S. Posthumus truly captures human emotions through song and music production. I had to recommend the album to my favorite singer’s fan base today which is at http://www.blisslife.com Honestly, I cannot get enough of their music ever! Great review and you are blessed to have Luna reach out to you! Its a sincere review!

I have to thank my friend Bren, http://www.sei-iki.com/, for the rest of my life for introducing me to their music last year. I’ve been HOOKED ever since!

4. M - May 22, 2012

who wouldn’t be hooked with ES Posthumus and Les Friction?


Leave a Reply

