jump to navigation

Review of Uncanny X-Men 495 (4 stars) February 8, 2008

Posted by lotrking in Comic Book Reviews.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

uxm495.jpg

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Readers who may be worried about my confusedness: don’t worry I did go back and read Messiah Complex before reading this. Why no review of MC? Because I’m lazy and it would take way to long to review each issue. You really want a review? OK, here is the short version: insanely awesome 4.5 stars, must read, the art rocked, except for Ramos’ art which sucked almost as much as Yu’s art. The End.

That said, MC was my first exposure to the “X-books” so if I do get confused about anything, or say something incorrectly in a review, I’ll attribute it to my noobiness. Some people may also be wondering why I picked this up, despite what I said about picking up new stuff here. Short answer: SS: In Thy Name ended, so nyahh, I didn’t contradict myself. Why Uncanny? I figured since X-Men were such a big part of the Marvel universe, I better get into it sometime. That and it was the only one of the “big four” (namely: Fantastic Four, Amazing Spider-Man, Avengers, and Uncanny X-Men) that I had never read.

So, now that that’s out of the way, let’s get into this great issue: I was going to try mentioning the art in places that made more sense as part of the review from now on, but the art here was so spectacular, that I just have to mention it first. I know I seem to always talk about how great someone’s art was, and that it was a great fit for the series, etc, etc, so I’ll just say it flat out: Choi’s art is the best I’ve seen since McNiven’s. Better than Epting, better than Coipel, and just as good as McNiven (and this is only the first time I’ve seen it! Imagine when I really get used to it!) So, I think, ‘nuff said.

Brubaker also continues to be a pretty good story teller (yeesh, I’m reading three of his books now, I better like him), the issue starts interestingly with Emma invading Scott’s dreams, before we learn that they are vacationing in the Savage Land. (And I could mention that I loved how the Scott/Emma scenes were written in this issue, and just tally it as another thing that is filling the gaping hole in my soul where the Peter/MJ marriage used to be, but if you haven’t figured out that I’m a big sap by now, you must have been sleeping through my previous reviews. It does tick me off though that Marvel doesn’t think a marriage that has worked for 20 years can’t work anymore when X-Men, Daredevil, and Fantastic Four are also showing marriages that are being written very well.) I was going to comment some more on the Savage Land scenes, but I think the part in the parentheses pretty well summed it up, so one again: ‘nuff said.

The brief Tony/Scott confrontation was also pretty interesting, and as always, it is fun to see get Tony put into his place. One thing that confused me about this scene, weren’t the identities of all living mutants all ready registered as part of the 198? Or does Tony mean he wants the X-Men to register twice, once with the 198 and once with the SHRA? Clarification would be appreciated.

The Wolverine/Nightcrawler/Colossus vacation was also fun to read. Much as I love Bendis’ work, I think Wolverine’s character was better written in this one issue of UXM, than the last ten issues of NA combined. Especially the bar scene, all it took was one pin up page, and we already know everything we need to about what happened. (Of course, they just could have said: Bar. Wolverine. ‘Nuff said.)

We finally end with Angel on his way to San Fran (with a nice tabloid nodding to what was mentioned earlier in the issue.) Angel sends an email to Cyclops, and then becomes a hippie. ….. Wait, what? Yup, that’s pretty much it. I’ll admit, I’m intrigued, and can’t wait to see what happens next issue.

So overall, nothing amazingly spectacular in this issue (except the art), but it was a very fun read, a fresh bit of light-heartedness amongst an often gloomy comics world.

Please leave comments!

-LOTRKing

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

