jump to navigation

Review of What If? Civil War 1 (4.5 stars) January 11, 2008

Posted by lotrking in Comic Book Reviews.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Can I replace the real Civil War with the second part of this book? 😉 Wow, I can’t begin to describe how much I loved this issue. I hope for two things: one, that there will be many more What If? Civil Wars to follow, asking similar questions, and two, that Marvel will make an alternate universe (similar to MC2) that follows the second half of the story.

The art pretty much fell into three parts (because there were three artists). 😉 Djurdjevic’s art was, as always, beautiful, and really helped to set the tone at the memorial. Gustavo’s art was … mehh. It seemed a bit too cartoony for me, there were a couple of parts were I laughed out loud because some of the facial expressions looked so goofy. It just didn’t seem to really fit with the seriousness of the subject matter, though I might have enjoyed it more if it was in a comedic book. Talibao’s on the other hand, was very good, I’d love to see more of his work. I also think he’d be a great artist in Mighty Avengers.

My first and main question from the story: who is “the Stranger”? Has he popped up anywhere else before? He seems kind of like a “Watcher” character. If anyone knows anything about him, and would like to share, that’d be awesome.

The overall story itself was very well written, a great display of the dichotomy of what could have happened in Civil War. The first half takes the dark side, what are some of the really horrible things that could have come about from the SHRA and Civil War? It shows how far the government could have gone to ensure the law was kept, and at the price of great tragedy. (Good thing this part was only a What If, if this had been the real Civil War too many good characters would have died). The part with Iron America (as I’m going to call him) was just plain awesome, too bad we didn’t get to see more of him. I think the point that was delivered best about a SHRA con, was how good the SHRA could have been for the villains (and may still be for the villains, as the Hood is currently showing in New Avengers). Overall, truly a frightening look at how scary the SHRA could have been (or may still be).

The second half was by far the best, I wish the real Civil War would have turned out this way (of course then we wouldn’t have had the fun of watching heroes beating each other up). 😉 Not to say that I didn’t thoroughly enjoy Civil War, its just that this provided a more satisfying resolution. (And hey, maybe One More Day would have never happened this way!) This would have been a great way to make the Marvel U even better. As I said earlier, I would definitely read issues about characters in this alternate universe (perhaps we could call it MC3? 😉 ) My favorite part of the issue was the press conference, an ingenious idea, and a great way to “stick it to the man” as it were.

After I write another anti-OMD letter, I may actually take the time to tell Marvel how great this issue was, and that I would like to read more about the “MC3” universe.

-LOTRKing

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

