jump to navigation

Review of Thor 1 (4.5 stars) January 11, 2008

Posted by lotrking in Comic Book Reviews.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

I must admit, I’m very much a noob when it comes to knowing anything about Thor, nonetheless, this issue ROCKED! As usual, I’ll start with the art: it was great! I liked Coipel’s work in House of M, and this was better still! I’ll be sad when he leaves this series (but not too sad, as we will be getting Djurdjevic! 😉 ). The opening page was insanely awesome, as was the “I am Thor!” page. I would love to have either one as my background on my computer. I can’t really say much more about how awesome the art was, or maybe I can… The art was grand, breath taking, and amazing! (*hides thesaurus*) 😉

Before I move onto the story, another quick compliment: kudos to Chris Eliopoulos for some awesome lettering. Usually the lettering is something that is just there, but this time the lettering actually added to the story. I can honestly say that I think this is the first comic that I have ever read where I can say that. If this continues, I may have to keep a spot open in my reviews for commenting on the lettering. 😉

So, the story: it did exactly what it was supposed to do. As a reader, it drew me in, did not confuse me, and left me wanting to read the next issue. His return made perfect sense to me. Oftentimes, when comic characters return from any abyss of some sort (death, another universe, whatever) is usually not well done, and you just kind of have to roll your eyes and say “I’m glad this character is back, so I’ll just accept the manner of return.” Not so with Thor! The whole “existence based on belief” and not “belief based on existence” is an idea that I have always found interesting. Overall, this whole issue is just a great story about the struggle and pains of rebirth.

Only thing I wanna know? (And if some Thor-knowledgeable could explain this that’d be great.) Why does Thor have long hair, but Dr. Blake have short hair? Does Thor have hair lengthening/shortening powers? 😐

-LOTRKing

Comments»

1. James - January 15, 2008

It’s magic. You don’t have to expl. . .

Oh that’s already been used. Well marvel has never fully explained it other than Thor and Donald Blake are in actuality different people that exist in different dimensions. Rather similar to the symbiotic relationship Rick Jones shared with Cap. Marvell for a time through the negabands.


Leave a Reply

