jump to navigation

Review of Daredevil 100 (4 stars) January 4, 2008

Posted by lotrking in Comic Book Reviews.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A great issue, I’m wishing I would have started here instead of with 99, I didn’t get lost once. 😉

I tend to like to start my reviews with the art, so this review won’t be any different. The art was … interesting. I’m definitely getting used to Lark’s style (whether or not I like it yet is TBD), but the switching of artists for different scenes was certainly something new. I think I liked it. It made sense as part of the story, because each artist drew a different “hallucination.” (Djurdjevic’s art was insanely awesome, as always. Likewise, using JR Sr for his old school look was great taste.) I think this is one of those instances where it worked very well here, but would be very weird anywhere else. (I’m also beginning to think the same thing about Lark, I think I like the way his art adds to the tone of the story, but I don’t think I would like his art outside of Daredevil). My main problem with the art (which probably has nothing to do with Lark), is it just me, or does Mr. Fear look like he could be Darth Vader’s brother? (No Matt! I am your father!)

The overall story was great. Kudos to Brubaker and the editors for realizing that a bunch of Daredevil noobs (myself included) would be picking up this issue for its landmarkiness. As I mentioned earlier, because this issue was written for noobs as well as long time fans, it was not only easy to understand, but easy to enjoy. I really enjoyed the disagreement between the two cops, one of them obviously wasn’t a firm believer in the SHRA (kudos to him!) Perhaps the best parts of the story were the “hallucinations” that took us through several key elements of Daredevil’s life a la Amazing Spider-Man 500. My favorite hallucinations were the ones with his father and Milla, they were very touching. (You didn’t see me just use that word, you were hallucinating). Of course, the scene that I was most curious about wasn’t a hallucination at all. Who was the exploding man? Why did Darth Fear want to kill him? Does it really have anything to do with the story, or did they just want a really cool explosion? Only time will tell…

That of course leads to the end of the issue, where Matt finds out what his wife did to that random guy at the subway. (Boy, that came out wrong). That, of course, sets up us for the next issue, which I will review next week, along with What If? Civil War, Silver Surfer: In Thy Name 3, and The Twelve 1. (More kudos to whoever got the “sets up us” reference. If you didn’t, perhaps it would help if I said something along the lines of “All your comic are belong to us.”)

-LOTRKing

Comments»

1. Gloria - January 4, 2008

Oh, DD #100 was spectacular… wasn’t it? but the good thing was that it was not only a lot of beautifully dreawn pages, but a good story as well, and as you say, it was a good one for newbies to jump in, as it recaps skillfully the essence of Matt Murdock.

I shed a little tear to see Karen Page back for a fleeting while… and so beautifully drawn by Romita Sr.

Glad you enjoyed it! (and man, I larfed and larfed at the Darth Vader/Luke joke! LMAO!), and looking forward to rad your reviews of further issues ;D

BTW, my own views on Issue 100:
http://allthisandtigernutstoo.blogspot.com/2007/09/daredevil-100.html


Leave a Reply

