jump to navigation

Review of Daredevil 99 (3 stars) December 31, 2007

Posted by lotrking in Comic Book Reviews.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Overall rating: 3 out of 5 stars

First of all, let me say that I may not be fully qualified to review this issue, (then again, who says I’m qualified to review comics at all?) as it was my first ever issue of Daredevil. But hey, ya gotta start somewhere, right?

I realize this issue is a little old, but since I’m not reading Spider-Man any more I thought I’d pick up Daredevil (something I’ve been contemplating for a while any way). I thought I was picking up part 1 of the current arc, but it turns out this is the last part of the previous arc. Oh well, now I’m a little more prepared for the current arc I guess.

Overall it was a pretty good issue. The main thing I didn’t like (except for the fact that is was hard to follow at times, but that’s because I’m new to the story) was the art (cover was good though) it was a little gritty and hard on the eyes, but I suppose it matches the theme of the book, so I can live with that. Besides, it’s no where near as bad as Yu’s art in New Avengers, at least here I can always tell who is who and what is going on, in NA sometimes I have really stare at the page to even understand what I am looking at.

Highlights of the issue: the whole crime-y feel, I haven’t read something that good in that area since the Gang Wars of Amazing Spider-Man, if this is what Daredevil is always like, I’m really going to like it. I also liked the scene with the cops, it’s good to see that even post-SHRA there is still some trust in the “illegal heroes.” Likewise, DD going out and beating everyone up out of anger while searching for info, really reminded of some of the best parts of Back in Black (I seem to be one of the few who actually enjoyed that storyline), and once again, I hope Daredevil is often like this. Of course all the suspense building up to Mr. Fear wasn’t as exciting for me as it was for others, because I’m not too familiar with him, but I understand that that part was supposed to be good.

Main thing I can’t wait to find out? What did Mr. Fear do to Milla? Cause it’s obvious he did something from that last line…

Also, what’s the deal with Lily Lucca? Why was Milla so angry with her? I tried looking her up online, but couldn’t really find anything. If anyone wants to tell me that’d be great, if not, I’m sure I’ll find out in some way or other in one of the upcoming issues.

Well shorter than normal review today, but I’m sure once I understand the world of Daredevil better, I’ll be able to go more in depth in my reviews.

-LOTRKing

Comments»

1. Gloria - December 31, 2007

LOTRKing,

I can tell you who Lily Lucca is (she’s a fairly recent character), but then I’d spoil the plot of the previous stories, so let me know first if you want to be spoiled or not (BTW, these stories, collected in two trades titled “The Devil inside and Out” are quite good, IMHO: they start with Matt Murdock in prison… you can imagine how tough life can get for a hero imprisoned with his worse enemies, as DD is there)

Yes, daredevil is usually a very street-level crime-fighting hero, and I love him for that… besides, he does all that… and he’s blind! That’s why I have always considered him the most corageous of heroes. He’s got a fine supporting cast, too.

Incidentally, DD had beaten Kingpin, pretty much in the same way Spidey has done in B&B, but he did it a few years ago, dirung the Bendis run: so for me the B&B kingpin beating was a re-run of something I had previously seen in DD, LOL

2. lotrking - December 31, 2007

I’m not planning on reading any issues before this any time soon, I’ve started here and I’m going to keep going, so I wouldn’t mind any spoilers that happened before this issue, just none from after this issue please!

Thanks!

-LOTRKing

3. Gloria - December 31, 2007

OK, so I’ll brief you on Lily Lucca. I’ll not enter in some details, as to not spoil too much.

Daredevil is searching for some clues in Europe. There he mets Lily: the daughter of an European crimelord. He feels atrcated by him and can’t tell why.

Then, Lily is kidnapped, and Matt goes after her trail to rescue her. he realizes that what attracts him is that she smells just like Karen Page!

DD rescues her, but as it turns out, she’s not a lost little lamb. And she eventually confesses that she has been given a special pheromone perfume which makes her smell to men like the woman they have loved most, or bring back their fondest memories (The person who created that perfume is introduced in the final pages of DD #99, so now you know ;D).

Lily comes to New York. She needs Matt’s help: even though she has stopped using the perfume, she’s still pestered by men, sometimed creating havoc as males fight for her attention. She wants it to end, and knowing that the perfume was created by an old enemy of DD, she thinks she can help her.

What freaks Milla out is to think that Lily could be after Matt: even though Matt and her didn’t have any affair in Europe, she’s worried because Matt has told her about the overwhelming effect of Lily smelling like Karen. So Milla acts hostile to Lily because she’s suspicious and fearful about her relationship with Matt (there are other besides, which you’ll become aware in the issues following that one, but you get the main idea).

Lily seems to want to become a good girl now, but her past makes her kind of shady.

4. lotrking - December 31, 2007

Thanks! You just saved me from lots of online searching! 🙂

5. Gloria - January 1, 2008

Huh, I notice I wrote some pronouns incorrectly, which may make the text a bit confusing at times… but in short: Lily smells like Karen, so Matt feels attracted to her, etc…

Still, if you are interested in summaries of previous issues, the “Man Without Fear” website (www.manwithoutfear.com) has a lot of them in its comics section (mind, you, these are complete summaries, so spoilers there)


Leave a Reply

