jump to navigation

Review of Mighty Avengers 6 (4 stars) December 30, 2007

Posted by lotrking in Comic Book Reviews.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A great ending to the Mighty Avengers’ first arc, but I’m going to get my gripes out of the way first, before my praisings.

Gripe 1) Ant-Man. I loved his sudden appearance last issue, it gave it a really cool old-school feeling. But at the beginning of this issue he’s right back on the S.H.I.E.L.D. Helicarrier. Did I miss something? How did he go from being right in front of Ultron, to being back on the helicarrier? Also, his sudden appearance last issue made it seem like he was going to do something important, but all he did was talk to Ultron (or did he? Like I said, timeline here is weird.) I realize he created the virus and all, but that was as Hank, I thought he would do something important as Ant-Man. I was just a bit let down.

Gripe 2) The Sentry. Normally, I think he is a pretty cool character despite having a lame origin. But now he suddenly has the power to heal others? *sigh* I hope he doesn’t decome just another deus ex machina for Marvel. “Oh no! [Insert random superhero] is dying! Go get the Sentry to heal him!” My theories for possible explanations: Notice in Mighty Avengers 5 in a panel when he is holding Lindy’s body that there is a golden glow between his hand and her face, AND his eyes have turned completely black. I’m thinking he may only have this healing power when he becomes The Void, which is something he can’t control, ergo, he won’t be able to control his healing powers, therefore (hopefully) keeping him from being a D.E.M. More fun theory: the “resurrected” Lindy is a Skrull. (She’d be in the perfect position to do spying to, I mean, an Avengers wife? That is exactly where the Skrulls want to be). The only thing I have against this theory: It’s a bit too expected. Then again, that was my main point for why the Pete/MJ marriage wouldn’t end, and why Bucky wouldn’t become Captain America, so that excuse may not have merit with Marvel anymore… *sigh*

Gripe 3) Tony’s perfectly healed? His armor completely healed him? With everything that could have went wrong, it just seemed a bit anticlimactic. But then again, I can’t think of anything better they could have done, and this doesn’t bother me that much, so just a very minor gripe.

Praisings! First – the cover! ROFL! Kudos to whoever decided to hide C-3PO in the pile of Iron Man’s armor! You just made a nerd very happy! Cho’s art – awesome as ever, even if it was the cause for this issue’s lateness (McNiven’s still my favorite comic artist though). Ares – continues to kick butt, and depending on how the next arc goes, he might just become my favorite Mighty Avenger (still as of yet undecided who that title belongs to). Also, the look on Iron Man’s face and the first thing he checks when Jan says: “She, uh, turned you into a girl.” So, that may not have been the most civilized humor, but I found it hilarious anyway. (Even funnier than Wolverine’s “bigger” comment in New Avengers 34 😉 )

The multiple endings were very fitting for this arc, and for some reason that I can’t describe, I really like ’em. I guess it just gives this issue a very TV-ish feel? I dunno, they were just good. I especially liked the brief reappearance of Ultron watching the Pyms, just kind of reiterated the whole notion that he/she’s never going away. That moment in and of itself just wanted me to keep reading the series. (Which I’m planning on doing anyways, but if I had been fence sitting that would have been the decider, cause you know Bendis is gonna use that moment in the future). And Spider-Woman brings Tony Skrullectra’s body finally. Yay! Now hurry up and catch up with New Avengers! 😛

Well it looks like my griping section was longer than my praising section. This is probably because you can nitpick in more ways than you can say “this issue was awesome.” But just to be sure, I’ll reiterate: This issue was awesome!

-LOTRKing

Comments»

1. itchytasty - December 30, 2007

Wholeheartedly agree with your thoughts on the Sentry. I try and try and try, but I cannot bring myself to liking the character easily, and once I start to consider, something’ll happen (another power — now he’s JESUS!)

Oh, and here’s the link to the motivational poster. Thank you for noting the messed up URL!


Leave a Reply

