jump to navigation

Review of Amazing Spider-Man 545 (0 Stars) December 30, 2007

Posted by lotrking in Comic Book Stuff.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Overall rating: 0 out of 5 stars

This was the worst comic ever written. Period. Not only for it’s highly controversial and stupid ending (which I and many others have complained about elsewhere), but also because it is so poorly written, that I think it unintentionally makes fun of itself. (Or perhaps it was just JMS admitted that the story sucked, but that he had nothing to do with it, if you read between the lines).

Case in point: “If I made that decision alone alone, no. But if we make it together…” Peter Parker is trying to convince MJ to accept this deal when she does not want to, and May would obviously disapprove? This is completely immature, selfish, and out of character. Peter is practically saying “I don’t care what MJ or May wants, only what would make me feel better.”

Next point: The page and and a half where every panel is the exact same frame close up of Peter and MJ together, with them saying only a few meaningless lines. If this was somehow supposed to be touching, it completely failed.

Third point: I think Mephisto says it best: “Have you thought for a second to ask yourselves why? Why I chose you two out of all people? It’s because yours is the rarest love of all. Pure, unconditional and made holy in the eyes of He who I hate the most. A love like yours comes once in a millenia and to take that away from Him, to deny Him, is a victory like none other imaginable.” JMS must have loved writing this line. Is it just me, or is he practically calling JQ Satan? I mean, he talks about how awesome and rare and wonderful this marriage is, and says what an evil, hateful thing it would be to take it away. Please tell me I’m not the only one who saw this analogy here…

Another quote I love: MJ – “The answer is yes, you monster!” Mephisto – “How … expected.” I’m sorry, but that is just too good, I think JMS is once again commenting on the story. Perhaps one of the most disappointing parts of this issue is that there was no surprises, virtually everything that happened has been floating around as rumors on the net for months. Normally Marvel does a good job keeping stuff like this underwraps, but this time they did a dismal job.

Fourth point: “NYRAAARGH! Do it.” A stupid line, with no point to it. The story is completely falling apart on itself here, and becomes completely obvious how forced it was.

Final point: Putting the excerpt from ASM Annual 21 was completely bad form. I mean seriously, they just took away the most beloved fictional marriage of all time, not to mention 20 years of continuity, and then they show us the original wedding that no longer happened? Are they just trying to rub it in our faces even more? Bad form!

In summary: this issue sucked liked no other, and until the marriage and continuity is restored, I’m done reading Spider-Man, and I encourage others to drop the title too, it’s the only way to send the message to Marvel that we hate what they are doing.

-LOTRKing

Comments»

1. Mark - December 30, 2007

Joe Q is a selfish moron who wants to destroy the iconic histories and characters in marvel and replace them with his heretical b*****dizations of the characters. Marvel is like hollywood–originality and storytelling is dead.

LOTRKing’s edit – Thank you for the comment, but please refrain from using curse words in my blog. Thank you.

2. Review of Daredevil 99 (3 stars) « LOTRKing’s Blog - December 31, 2007

[…] realize this issue is a little old, but since I’m not reading Spider-Man any more I thought I’d pick up Daredevil (something I’ve been contemplating for a while any […]

3. dylan555 - January 2, 2008

I agree, this really bugged me a lot. Why not let Aunt May pass away and then deal with the consequences of that? Isn’t that why Gwen Stacy’s death was so powerful? It seems like the best thing to do would be to try and get Spiderman and MJ to pick up the pieces of their lives and move on.


Leave a Reply

